Ginger is now an official race

ABB Formula E: The fast-paced final of the championship in Berlin

The fully electric ABB Formula E racing series will pick up speed again at the beginning of August. A total of six races within just nine days on the Tempelhofer Feld in Berlin will decide who will win the coveted championship.

Between August 5th and 13th, the ABB Formula E drivers are almost constantly at the wheel of their racing cars. How has the season been going so far and what can you look forward to in the upcoming races? You will find out now.

This is how the Formula E showdown in Berlin is planned

“We're on our way to Berlin-Tempelhof - a place that our teams, drivers and fans love - for a nine-day racing festival with three consecutive double headers. The races will take place on three different routes, which is a new challenge and creates the conditions for an unpredictable and dramatic highlight of the season, ”says Jamie Reigle, Chief Executive Officer of ABB Formula E. A total of 1,000 people, including local suppliers and medical care teams, are allowed on site to be present. Tests for the coronavirus are carried out before the races; the use of face masks and social distancing measures are also mandatory. Work areas for the various event groups are delimited with clearly defined zones.

Of course, you can still follow the races live. It starts with the first free practice on August 5th from around 8:40 a.m. on the ABB Formula E YouTube channel. You can watch the races on linear TV from 7:00 p.m. on Eurosport 1 or on ARD and ZDF watch - conveniently via GigaTV, of course. This overview reveals how you can otherwise experience the sessions.

The Porsche 99X Electric with the Vodafone logo.

Who will be the Formula E champion?

The ranking is particularly close this season. Just 23 points separate the first four drivers in the ranking. That is less than a race win for which there are 25 points. With 67 points after five races, António Felix da Costa from Portugal is currently in first place in the drivers' standings. André Lotterer from the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E team is currently twelfth with 25 points. But of course nothing has been decided. After all, each driver can achieve a maximum of six wins and thus at least theoretically get 180 points. The outcome of this season and who will ultimately win the ABB Formula E championship is therefore open. That makes the all-electric racing series even more exciting.

Fanboost: Support André Lotterer and Neel Jani with your voice

Of course, the fan boost voting is also active again in the six races. You can vote for your favorite driver. The five drivers with the most votes per race receive an additional energy boost while the race is in progress - that is, they speed up for a short time. And of course they have an advantage over their competitors who do not have this extra.

The Fanboost is open for your voting on all race days from 7:00 p.m. to 15 minutes after the start of the race.

Vodafone is the official communications partner of Porsche Motorsport and of course we keep our fingers crossed for drivers Neel Jani and André Lotterer. You also? Then vote for the two Porsche drivers in the fan boost voting. This can be done, for example, via the official Formula E app for Android and iOS, on Twitter with the hashtag #Fanboost + driver's name or via the official Formula E website. Perfect, then all you have to do is tune in live from August 5th and enjoy all-electric racing at its finest. We wish you a lot of fun.

Which Formula E driver will you keep your fingers crossed for and who do you think will win the title this season? Tell us in the comments.