What is the Hangul Alphabet

1. The Hangul alphabet

The most important part of language acquisition is the alphabet. How lucky that the Korean alphabet (Hangul / Hanguel) is quite easy to learn.

The alphabet was developed by the Korean King Sejong in the 15th century and it is a very scientific way of writing.

So it is entirely possible that you will be able to read and write Korean in the next 90 minutes.

So you shouldn't skip this lesson. Because it is the foundation of the Korean language and it won't pose too much of a challenge for you.

The alphabet consists of 10 vowels and 19 consonants. So there aren't many Korean characters to learn.

And even if the double vowels are added in the next lesson, these are the central letters. Let's take a closer look at the consonants and vowels. Let's learn hangul.

The vocals

The vowels are the white letters in the first two rows. These are divided into two families for ease of understanding.

a) Vertical vowels

ㅣ = i

ㅏ = a

ㅓ = eo (like aw in English saw)

ㅑ = ya

ㅕ = yeo

b) Horizontal vowels

ㅡ = eu (does not exist in German)

ㅗ = o

ㅜ = u

ㅛ = yo

ㅠ = yu

The consonants

The consonants are the brown letters in our picture and we will now take a closer look at them

ㄱ = g / k

ㅋ = k

ㄲ = gg

ㄷ = d / t

ㅌ = t

ㄸ = dd

ㅂ = b / p

ㅍ = p

ㅃ = bb

ㅈ = j

ㅊ = ch

ㅉ = yy

ㅁ = m

ㄴ = n

ㄹ = L / R

ㅅ = s / sh

ㅆ = ss

ㅎ = h

ㅇ = ng

Very easy, isn't it? :)